St Helena Headline NEWS- ELECTION RESULTS- 27 July 2017


South Atlantic Media Services ‘SAMS’

In the 2017 Saint Helena General Election the following candidates have been selected by the electorate to serve the Saint Helenian people on Legislative Council:

Russell Keith Yon: 753 votes
Corinda Sebastiana Stuart Essex: 742 votes
Derek Franklin Thomas: 668 votes
Brian William Isaac: 631 votes
Lawson Arthur Henry: 568 votes
Cyril Kenneth Leo: 561 votes
Clint Richard Beard: 513 votes
Anthony Arthur Green: 476 votes
Cruyff Gerard Buckley: 471 votes
Kylie Marie Hercules: 460 votes
Gavin George Ellick: 458 votes
Christine Lilian Scipio-O’Dean: 392 votes

The remaining votes cast went to:

Cyril Keith Gunnell: 383
Jeremy James Johns: 333
Elizabeth Margaret Mary Johnson-Idan: 299
Pamela Ward Pearce: 198
Marian Bernadette Yon: 136

The count took 6 hours to complete with the results announced at just before 3 am on Thursday 27th of July.

49% of those eligible cast votes. This was down by 6% compared to 2013 (55%), 9% compared to 2009 (58%) but better than 2005 (47%).

Our congratulations go out to all those candidates selected and commiserations to all those who didn’t quite make it.

Vote count ended at approximately 02:46 local time- the results are in! Congratulations to the following 12 persons that made it through


Image may contain: text

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s